Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Image

Rating: 4.5stars
Type: Science Fiction
Series: Lux #1
Author | Amazon | Goodreads

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Review

favourites

I know what you’re thinking… Aliens? Seriously? Well yes, seriously. I finished reading this book the same night that I started it – I honestly could not put it down. It’s totally different from all the other paranormal books that I’ve read lately, and Jennifer tells her story at the kind of pace that I love. Normally, I find myself getting bored if there’s too much unnecessary description, droning on endlessly (the lake is beautiful – we get it), but I always found myself getting all the information I needed without having to read a never-ending amount of pages to figure out what happened in a short 5 minute scene. Don’t get me wrong, I love a beautiful description as much as the next girl, but you can’t keep all the juicy details away for that long!

And honestly, Daemon? Sure, the whole he-hates-me-but-obviously-he-doesn’t thing is a little predictable sometimes, but the way that the scenes are written just get you fired up because theres so much banter and repartee between Katy and Daemon (I’ll never be able to say “Kitten” without blushing again). And don’t be put off because they’re aliens, these aren’t the green one eyed or E.T looking type. There were so many times I sat there and grinned to myself at all the funny and witty conversations in the novel (I rarely laugh out loud so grinning to myself is kind of a big deal), and it wasn’t all gloom and doom; it had a passionate light hearted-ness to it. Love the series and can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Definitely recommend it!!!

  • Overall rating: 4.5/5
  • Storyline: 4/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • Characters: 5/5

Lux Series

Anna

4 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: The Harry Potter Spell Book Tag! | Cool Girls Read Too

  2. Pingback: The Harry Potter Spell Book Tag! - Cool Girls Read TooCool Girls Read Too

Leave a comment