Review: Dark Light by S.L. Jennings

Darklight by S.L JenningsRating: 1star
Type: Paranormal
Series: Dark Light
add amazon

LOVE. SEX. MAGIC.

Before her 20th birthday, Gabriella was pretty much clueless about all three. In love with her best guy friend since the age of 14 and too crass and intimidating for most of the male population of Colorado Springs, love and good sex were virtually a myth.

And then there’s magic. Freakin’ magic. There’s no way that legend could have a place in her less than exciting life. So why after twenty years of utter obscurity do her adopted parents hit her with the ton of bricks that is her true identity? And how the heck is she supposed to accept all this and become what she was truly created to be?

Lucky for Gabs, sexy as sin Dorian is more than equipped to help her embrace these new revelations. And while everything about him feels oh so good, she soon learns that there’s more behind his crystal blue eyes, chiseled body and exotic beauty. Something dark, menacing and downright unnatural. Yet Gabs is in way too deep to even try to turn away from him now.

Dark Light, Book 1 of the Dark Light Series, is the raw, emotional story of a young woman’s journey of self-discovery in a world that was not meant for her. And her scorching hot, lip-biting addiction for the man she can’t deny, no matter the cost.

 

My Review

I COULDN’T FINISH THIS BOOK. I really couldn’t. My first DNF. It’s been on my shelf for a long time (yay I’m sticking to my TBR list for once) and it’s one of the few New Adult books on there, so I was looking forward to reading it. I was expecting it to be so much better. I mean, how long should I give a book before I give up, all the while resisting the urge to throw my Kindle against the wall? Because I gave it a whole 50% and I got absolutely nothing. I couldn’t read anymore. What a waste of my time. The characters, the story, the… Oh jeez, everything was bad.

thisisjustnotacceptable

Why did Dorian’s blue eyes have to be mentioned freaking 50 times? Just incase we forgot or something? Gabriella is basically an incredibly annoying stupid alcoholic slut (yes, I could go on) who is oblivious to danger around her. Dorian is one of the most transparent (as well as a borderline stalker), and most flat characters I’ve ever read. Zero emotional connection to them, except for the constant feeling of needing to kill Gabriella the entire time I was reading.

angryapril

The story was so thinly woven, all the information Gabriella got about the Light and Dark came from a book written by her mum. It was the most boring info dump I’ve ever read. She finds out there’s someone trying to kill her (because of course she’s some “special” potential planet saviour with the strongest powers), but she’s still out and about, being an oblivious  sex-centered idiot. Then there’s the pathetic instalove with Dorian… It was so over the top instalove it was gross. They were immediately completely, and entirely consumed with each other and she never took notice to the weird things that happened around him. Riiiiight…

hmmm

They had cringing intimate scenes and other than having to listen Gabriella constantly lusting after Dorian (or what she was going to wear), there wasn’t much going on in the actual story. I can’t go on anymore.

 

*heavy breathing*

I really wanted to like this series, but it was such a disappointment. 😦 If I feel like I can handle it, I may give it another go in the future, but that might be a long way away.

This leaves me with one question: How the heck did it get such high ratings on Goodreads?

stitchthrowsbook

Anna

 

 

8 thoughts on “Review: Dark Light by S.L. Jennings

  1. Wow, from your review I do wonder how it came to have such a high Goodreads rating. 😕
    I felt a slightly less extreme version of this whilst reading Rick Yancey’s The Fifth Wave. I don’t think I even made it half way on that one… 🙂

    • It’s so hard to decide when to actually stop, because sometimes I don’t get into books until a good 30-40% of it, but at 50% I thought okay… This is too much! Haha XD It’s such a shame when you have such high expectations and then are disappointed, but never mind! I’ve just started another book now that I’m absolutely loving! 😀

  2. Ohh no, this sounds like no fun at all! I’m surprised that it was so bad, because it totally looks like the kind of book that I would like… =( It’s a shame it was such a disappointment but at least now you have lots of time to read other books! =)

    • I know, I was so disappointed 😦 But I’m happy now because the book I read after this one was so much better! 🙂 If you have the time, maybe give Dark Light a try, I’d be curious to know what you think of it and if you will dislike it as much as me!

  3. Gosh, this sounds awful D: If the characters were at least likable, I believe it would be slightly better but.. good job at reading your way to 50% though! 😛

Leave a Reply

