Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

heiroffireRating: 5stars
Type: Fantasy
Series: Book 3 in Throne of Glass
Number of Pages: 565

add amazon

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

 

myreview

HOW DO I EVEN BEGIN? I seriously scorn myself for not starting this sooner. This book has been the best thing that has happened to me this month, and I’ve had a pretty awesome month if I do say so myself – that’s putting into perspective how totally freaking amazing this book is. I loved this book as much (if not more) than the previous ones, and I wasn’t even sure that was possible!

Warning: this review is obnoxiously long, and I can’t bring myself to shorten it.
I’m currently going through a major book hangover, so this review is full of pointless totally necessary gifs, and some fan art. 😛

moments that make life worth living

** This review contains some slight spoilers from the previous two books **

I could go on about this book forever, but I’m going to try not to go on too much (emphasis on try). There’s a couple of new big characters introduced in this book, and normally I’d find that kind of thing a bit overwhelming but it was done perfectly. I loved all of the new characters, especially Rowan and Manon. I’m so glad the book was as long as it was, I even wished it was longer – I found myself trying to savour the last 200 pages by reading extra slow because I didn’t want it to end (at the same time fighting the need to finish it all immediately). XD

thisisthebest

You learn so much more about Aelin, mostly about her early life before she turned into Celaena Sardothien. She goes through a lot in this book and develops phenomenally (all the characters do), coming out as an even stronger and more badass queen.  There was a lot of puzzle pieces put out in this book, and I can’t wait to see how they will all fit together in the next three books. And oh my god, there was so much fantasy and magic – magic everywhere. 😀

i love magic

Rowan is a fae warrior that is assigned to help Aelin/Celaena, and though initially he is really hard on her (I think she needed it) they both grow on each other. There was hardly any romance in the whole book (which for once I didn’t mind), but every scene where Aelin/Celaena and Rowan got relatively more ‘intimate’ I just wanted to smash their heads together and make them kiiiiiiiiss. Forget about Chaol, Roawn is the one for you. You’re perfect together. Get married. Make babies. Dooooo it!

 now kiss

rowan aelin

Rowan & Aelin – Credit

For the second half of the book, everything was starting to go too well – too suspiciously well. Then it happened, and so many things suddenly fell apart and I was left sitting there like this:

realisation

But never fear, despite so many things falling apart, there are so many good things to come (my spidey senses are tingling). When does the next freaking book come out?
How am I going to live until then?

I think I need to start a support group.

whatdegreeofshambleslifein

Many shambles. So many shambles.

breaker

Since I’m feeling super obsessive and there is just so much going on in this book it’s hard to summarise (despite how much I’ve already blabbered on), I decided to do a character breakdown (which I’m convinced will help me somewhat with the book hangover I’m currently going through).

character-breakdown

Celaena Sardothien / Aelin Ashryver Galathynius

aelin

Aelin – Credit

...and then I am going to rattle the stars

Celaena/Aelin is one of my favourite if not most favourite female character. She develops so much in this book and you learn so much about her, she goes from the darkest places and comes out even stronger and ready to shake things up.

Rowan Whitethorn

rowan 4

Rowan – Credit

Windows ­were shuttered as they passed, probably because of Rowan, who looked like nothing short of death incarnate. But he was surprisingly calm with the villagers they approached. He didn’t raise his voice, didn’t snarl, didn’t threaten. He didn’t smile, but for Rowan, he was downright cheerful.

I’m in love. Totally besotted. He’s amazing. Brooding, calm, caring, calculating and powerful. At first he comes across as the most horrible person ever, but then you find out more about him and he really grows on you. I would have his babies – just sayin’.

can i have him for my birthday

Chaol Westfall

I used to like Chaol a lot, but sometimes in this book he was so frustrating with his loyalty and his honour. I half felt sorry for him and half didn’t, and unfortunately he was one of the least interesting characters to read about in this book. I really don’t know what’s in store for him now.

Dorian & Chaol - Credit

Dorian & Chaol – Credit

Dorian Hallivard

Oh poor Dorian. Just when things couldn’t get any worse, they do. He is such a fantastic character and he really starts to realise his potential in this book. I just want him to find happiness, he really deserves it. Kill that wretched father of his!

Manon Blackbeak

Manon Blackbeak

Manon – Credit

Witches didn't need blood to survive, but humans didn't need wine, either.

She’s totally nuts and wicked and ruthless and oh my god I just love her so much. Her chapters were so much fun to read. I loved how her character progressed with the story, you really come to love her and of course her wyvern, Abraxos. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for her, or when she cross paths with the other characters. Is she good? Bad? I don’t know, but what I do know is she’s fan-freaking-tastic.

youreinsane

Aedion Ashryver

Yes. We needed a male Celaena! Madness, more madness! I cannot wait for what’s to come. He is such a fantastic character, truly a great addition to the series.

“The king picked up his goblet, swirling the wine inside. 'I didn't receive word that your legion was here.'
'They're not.'
Chaol braced for the execution order, praying he wouldn't be the one to do it. The king said, 'I told you to bring them, General.'
'Here, I was thinking you wanted the pleasure of my company.”

Sorscha

She is a healer in the castle and is soon entwined in the lives of the others. Such a sweet girl, I couldn’t help but pity her and want her to find happiness. She really started to open up as a character and well… I can’t say anymore because it’ll just be a spoiler.

Abraxos

toothless

Each of the scars, the chipped teeth and broken claws, the mutilated tail—­they ­weren’t the markings of a victim. Oh, no. They ­were the trophies of a survivor. Abraxos was a warrior who’d had all the odds stacked against him and survived. Learned from it. Triumphed.

 DID ANYBODY ELSE IMAGINE ABRAXOS AS TOOTHLESS BUT JUST MORE VICIOUS?
I totally did. He was soooooo amazing! Abraxos is Manon’s wyvern (kind of like a dragon).
I want one. Please?

breaker

Did anyone manage to read until here?
Can anyone obsess and fangirl with me?

Hello? Is anybody there? Did I bore everyone to death?
I’m still fangirling.

fangirling1

8 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

      • Om nom nom *scoffs cookie*
        I actually just found an online Throne of Glass shop this afternoon which sells t-shirts and bags and stuff, and they even have some HoF things. I was like: WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THIS SOONER?

        (Also, have you changed your avatar? :-))

      • OMG NO WAY.
        I’m going to check it out right now!Goooood-bye savings, hello ToG merchandise! XD

        (Yes I have! Hehehe decided to change it to a picture of myself ^^’ )

  1. Fantastic review!!

    I liked Rowan, but I have to say I didn’t adore him as much as everyone else seems to. Aedion however I AM SO IN LOVE WITH. I thought his reluctant bromace with Chaol was awesome lol.

    And Dorian was so cool in this! I’ve always been a bit lukewarm about his character, but man did he come to life here!! And Chaol’s speech at the end? THE FEELS.

    I just can’t with this series, man. The books get better and better and my heart can’t handle it

    • Thank you!!! XD Aedion is fantastic as well isn’t he?! He totally did have a little bromance going on with Chaol as well hahaha.

      Dorian was SO good in this! So many FEELS, I can’t even!

      I don’t know how I’m going to be able to handle waiting for the next book (and every one after that).

  2. I’m reading this right now and I just started the second half, now I’m scared xD But totally agree with everything you mentioned. I used to love Chaol and Celaena but ROWAN IS LIFE. Oh my gosh I love them together. I keep switching teams every book, haha.

    • Hahaha, I know! I often find myself doing the same with books! And omg ROWAN ❤️ The second half is fantastic, a lot of feels but it’s great! We have to talk/fangirl about it when you’ve finished reading it! XD

Leave a Reply

