Thursday Thoughts: Audiobooks

thursday-thoughts

AUDIOBOOKS

Thursday Thoughts is a weekly meme hosted by Ashley at Ok, Let’s Read. This is the first time that I’ve done it and came across it through Kaja’s awesome blog Of Dragons and Hearts, which you should check out! ๐Ÿ™‚ This week’s topic is Audiobooks.

Source: Bills DealsI’ve never actually tried an audiobook before, but I really want to. I’ve just recently bought so many new books on my Kindle that I can’t quite justify buying an audiobook yet (though do I plan to buy my first one beginning of next week – what? I’m kind of setting myself restrictionsย aren’t I?).

Living in London, I spend have to spend a lot of time travelling around on the tube (the underground) or buses to get around and I can’t read when I’m moving about because it’s always so cramped or by the time I’d start reading a page I’d have to change lines or something (I know, life is hard ๐Ÿ˜› ). So, listening to an audiobook whilst I bumble about would be perfect – especially since I get so bored of my music sometimes!

I saw on Kaja’s blog that she listens to audiobooks whilst cookingย and I thought that wow, that must be so therapeutic! I would definitely enjoy that.

There’s a few things that I’m worried about though…
What if I didn’t like the narrator’s voice?
Or what happens when a sexy scene comes on?

I mean, it’s one thing to read thoseย scenes but (okay, I’ll be honest) I think if I heard them described out loud I’d roll around on the floor laughing like a 5 year old. ^^’ I’ve seen that a few audiobooks give you a choice for narrators, but that’s only for the very well-known books.

Have you listened to an audiobook?
What do you think of them?

annasign

16 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Audiobooks

  1. Well I’ll tell you there are definitely going to be narrators you don’t care for. In my own experience if I come across a narrator I don’t care for then I usually stop listening and find something else. This isn’t too big a problem for me since I borrow my audiobooks from the library, but if you plan to purchase them maybe listen to a sample on audible before you buy? That way you know what you’re getting before you buy?

    I do think that you’ll have a good experience overall listening while commuting. I do all my listening while in the car travelling to work ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m definitely excited to get my first one! ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’ll listen to the samples before I buy any, don’t want to get stuck with a narrator I don’t like! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I listen to to audiobooks in the car when we go on longer trips. We actually listened to a kid’s book called Cosmic, since all the other ones were either 20 hours long or with odd narrators. I felt kinda guilty that I enjoyed it so much, but, hey. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I haven’t really listened to any other audiobooks – I tried the Throne of Glass sample and I couldn’t get used to the American accent…

    • Haha awww! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wonder if I would prefer a British accent or an American accent… Male or female… Hmmm… I’ll be listening to a few samples today to see what I like XD

  3. Ahaha, you make a great point about *those* scenes. I’ve yet to come across that in an audiobook and now I’m wondering about how I would react xD I think it would be pretty awkward, especially for a narrator haha. I haven’t listened to that many but I’ve enjoyed the ones that I have ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hahaha I know right! Like does their voice get all intense in *those* scenes? I think I’ll end up laughing hysterically on the floor (I’m really mature like that ^^’ ) I’m looking forward to listening to my first one, I’m going to have to spend some time deciding which book and narrator I want though, because they’re pretty expensive! XD

      • Bahaha yeah, I really wonder if they put emotion into their voices or read it indifferently xD I’m laughing so hard just thinking about it. Anyways ๐Ÿ˜› Yeah, I know what you mean. You should check and see if your library has some, I know both my actual library and digital library carries audiobooks ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yeah, I can imagine if you don’t like the narrator you just wouldn’t be able to listen. I’m going to try my first one this week and see how it goes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Great Post. I haven’t listened to an Audiobook and don’t know if I will. I like having my book or Kindle in my hands to read if that makes sense. I had to comment on this post though. Just the thought of listening to a Sexy Scene cracked me up so much! That would be awkward – Especially if you are on the Tube and the person next to you can hear too (I know how cramped the Tube can get).:P

    • Hahaha I know right!? You’d have to turn the volume down just incase! XD I still haven’t bought an audiobook yet because I’ve been to busy this week, so I still need to try it! I think I’ll prefer reading normally though, I love reading on my kindle! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I used to listen to a LOT of audiobooks when I was bit younger, but I seem to have grown out of the habit now ๐Ÿ™‚ And oh my god, it really would be soo awkward listening to scenes like those ๐Ÿ˜€
    I’ll have to try *listening* to books again sometime! And btw, your blog theme is fantastic โค

    • Hahahaha it would be sooo awkward! I’m definitely going to get an audiobook with scenes like that in just so I can see if the voice gets all intense! XD I’ve just been so busy this week I haven’t had any time, but I’m excited! Haha Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

