Review: Demons at Deadnight (Book 1) by A&E Kirk

demons at deadnightRating: 4stars
Type: Paranormal
Series: Book 1 in Divinicus Nex Chronicles
Number of Pages: 404

add amazon

For seventeen-year-old Aurora Lahey, survival is a lifestyle.

DEMONIC DESTINY
Aurora has the crappiest superpower on the planet. And it’s just unleashed a hit squad from hell. Demons are on the hunt, salivating to carve her carcass into confetti.

CHARISMATIC KILLERS
The Hex Boys–mysterious, hunky, and notorious for their trails of destruction–have the answers Aurora needs to survive. But their overload of deadly secrets and suspicious motives makes trusting them a potentially fatal move.

LETHAL ALLIES
The battle to save her family, herself, and stop demonic domination may cost Aurora everything worth living for, and force her to reveal her own dark secrets. But no worries. She needs the Hex Boys to pull this off, and, chances are, teaming up with these guys will get her killed anyway.

 

 

My Review

I was really excited to read Demons at Deadnight! How nice is the book cover? It’s been a while since I’ve read a YA book and the story was pretty unique so I had high hopes. I wasn’t disappointed. The story follows Aurora, a girl that can see demons and makes friends with 6 delicious demon hunters: Ayden, Blake, Jayden, Logan, Matthias and Tristan… Or also known as, The Hex Boys.

yuuuuum 

For a while I kept thinking, what the hell is going on? Why is all of this happening and what the hell is a Divinicus Nex? Everything is happening so fast! What’s with all the demons? Who are these boys? Who do I trust? Who do I like? Which Hex boy do I like most? (What? I had to throw that one in). Tell meeeeee… I need answers!

suspicious

I launched into a graceful ninja-like front roll, then stood my ground to face the monstrous heathen, fearless in my determination to vanquish the deadly foe. 
Nah, just kidding. I bolted, discretion being the better part of not getting dead.

The story moved so quickly and was full of action, and even though I wasn’t entirely sure what was happening, it was really fun and there were some hilarious moments. The repartee between the boys was hilarious and reminded me so much of my guy friends.

noidea

Then everything started to fall into place and I was like ooooohhh, okay. I get it now. Kinda. I really liked that Aurora is very close with her family, her siblings and parents were hilarious as well (they also reminded me a lot of my own family haha).

omgomg

“Her dad’s coming,” she said, voice shrill.
“What?” we all said in unison.
Tristan, Ayden and the fairy looked at me and said, “What?”
“What?” I repeated, panicked and irritated at my lack of control in responding to a fairy I wasn’t
supposed to see or hear.
“What?” came their reply.
“What?” I continued the theme of repetition because I lacked any form of explanation.
Ayden held up a hand for silence. “Why are you ‘whatting’?”
“What?”
The hand again. “Okay, stop that,” Ayden said.

Team Ayden

I’ve put three of my favourite excerpts here that actually made me laugh. Blake was hilarious how he was always teasing (don’t worry – there’s no love triangles in this book! XD ). The chemistry between all the boys just worked. I liked Aurora as a character, but sometimes she annoyed me… I can see why she would have trouble trusting people, but she kept getting stuck in silly situations and embarrassing herself a bit too much (for the most part it was funny, but sometimes it was over the top). I’d definitely recommend this book though, it was fun! 🙂

"I don't need Ice." The bag of melting cubes sloshed in the Ziplock bag. Ayden wouldn't take it back.
"Keep it incase you get a headache." 
"Dude, you hit my girl. I have to challenge you to a duel. My team demands satisfaction."
"She's not your girl."
"She could be my girl."
"She'll never be your girl."
"Why are you trying to hone in on my girl?"
"I'm not trying to--"
"Why not? What's wrong with my girl? Don't you think she's hot? Sexy? The ultimate fantasy?"
"Yes-- no-- I mean --"
"What do you mean? She's either hot or she's not. I say she's hot. What say you?"
I raised my eyebrows. "Yeah, Ayden, what say you?"

it was awesome

Anna

13 thoughts on “Review: Demons at Deadnight (Book 1) by A&E Kirk

  1. I LOVED YOUR REVIEW SO MUCH! It was so much fun to read ^-^ I’m checking the library right now to see whether they have the book! The snippets really piqued my curiosity 😀

    • Thank you!! ^^’ You should check it out (and let me know what you think! 😀 ), it was a fun and different to others I’ve read before! I’m definitely going to read to second one once I have some more time! 🙂

    • Awww thank you!! ^^’ I really enjoyed this book! It’s been so long I feel since I read YA, but it was really fun! If you read it, you have to let me know what you think! We have such similar tastes in books I love it! XD

Leave a Reply

