Review: Fighting Destiny by Amelia Hutchins

Fighting DestinyRating: 4stars
Type: Paranormal/Fantasy
Series: The Fae Chronicles Book 1
add amazon

Have you ever heard of the old Celtic legends of the Fae – beautiful, magical, and deadly creatures that have a love of messing with humans just for kicks and giggles?

Welcome to my world.

What started out as a strange assignment, lead to one of the most gruesome murder mysteries of our times. My friends and I are set and determined to find out who is killing off Fae and Witches alike.

Couple of problems in the way – I hate the Fae and the Prince of the Dark Fae is bound and determined that I work for him. He’s a rude, overbearing egotistical ass with a compulsive need to possess, dominate and control me. Oh – did I mention that he is absolutely sex-on-a-stick gorgeous and he makes me feel things that I never ever wanted to feel for a Fae…every time he touches me or looks at me with those dangerous golden eyes he seems to pull me further in under his spell, despite my better judgment.

My friends and I can’t trust anyone and nothing is as it seems on the surface – not even me.

 

My Review

favourites

This is the first ‘adult fiction’ book (and faerie for that matter) I’ve ever read so I was pretty excited to start it and didn’t really know what to expect, especially since it’s fantasy erotica. It has a lot – and I mean a lot – of sexual content, so it isn’t for younger readers. ^^’ I found the book on Goodreads after looking for more adult fantasy (I’ve really gotten bored of YA) and came across this. It has really high ratings and the comments/reviews were full of praise, so I decided to give it a go! And I’m glad I did! 😀 Alright, it maybe wasn’t always the best writing and some descriptions were repetitive, and the story didn’t always flow smoothly… But I really enjoyed it! After I hit that half-way point I couldn’t stop. I finished it in a few hours and have already started on the second book!

dontlookjudgy

“You stole my car."
"Borrowed it I did, return it I will."
"Okay Yoda, can I have the woman whose body you stole back?”

The story itself was something new for me and I think I’ve found a new love for faeries! I liked Synthia a lot; she’s feisty, stubborn and not overly emotional (except when she’s feeling responsible for keeping everyone alive – get over it). She was a little too uptight, but it works. Ryder is this dark, arrogant and mysterious sexy creature with an attitude to match. Their chemistry works, and as you read on you start to kind of understand why they are so drawn together. The sexual tension and build up was so intense, I was sitting there thinking “oh my god just do it woman“!

omgwatching

And then I was like:

iwouldliketodothatplease

It felt a little bit weird reading the intense sex scenes, and the “main” one went on for too long… Yes, I totally enjoyed the first few pages but jeez, I get it, I get it – you’re having awesome sex! When I was nearly halfway I started to get bored and almost gave up because nothing significant had really happened yet. When I was about to stop reading… BAM! 😮 Everything changed – there was a huge plot twist which I wasn’t expecting and was relieved because I really didn’t want to be disappointed by this book. Mother of faerie sexiness. From then on I couldn’t tear my eyes away and finished it so quickly!

wooooo

“Thanks for that by the way, not bad for a fucking Fairy—” I laughed—“get it? Fucking Fairy?” I snorted and closed my eyes.
“I get it,” he growled,”

I’d recommend it if you’re looking for an adult fantasy book, it was really interesting for me to read something like this for the first time! 🙂

Anna

9 thoughts on “Review: Fighting Destiny by Amelia Hutchins

  1. This sounds like an exciting book!! Don’t know if I’d try it out right now, as I tend to stick to YA (I really should expand the genres I read, though), but I’ll definitely have to keep this book in mind. Great review. 😀

    • It was fun for me to read something so different! ^^’ Some of the explicit scenes went on for too long though, but other than that it was alright. I’ve been enjoying NA a lot as well as adult! 😀

  2. Pingback: The Harry Potter Spell Book Tag! | Cool Girls Read Too

  3. Pingback: The Liebster Award (2 parts)! | Cool Girls Read Too

  4. Pingback: The Liebster Award (2 parts)! - Cool Girls Read TooCool Girls Read Too

Leave a Reply

