Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

city of heavenly fireRating: 3stars
Type: Paranormal
Series: 6th and final book in The Mortal Instruments
add amazon

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

 

My Review

I’ve been waiting so long for the this book to come out and for The Mortal Instruments series to come to an end. I could hardly remember anymore what had happened at the end of the fifth book, but I knew that at the time I was completely obsessed with the series. This book took me two weeks to finish. TWO WEEKS. Admittedly, I’ve been quite busy and haven’t had much time, and it’s not that I disliked the book – it was just sooooo freaking boring. It felt like it went on forever, I was close to not finishing it sometimes… But I couldn’t do that – I needed to know how it all ended because I used to really like the series.

I’m sorry TMI fans 😦

imborednow

This was one of the first series of books that got me so into reading again last year and I think that my tastes have changed a lot in that time. It’s not that this book was any different to any of the other books prior to it (actually, that was probably the problem – there wasn’t anything different). It also wasn’t that it had a that bad of a story/ending – in fact, everything ended in pretty much the best way possible. I’ve definitely fallen out of love with the characters, in particular Jace – I’ll be honest, he’s one of the main reasons I loved this series so much. He used to be so attractive and now he’s just an over-emotional suicidal pansy. Everything became so gloomy (except for the rainbows and butterflies ending) and there was way too much going on; particularly with the whole build up for the spin-off series “The Dark Artifices“. That’ll be the third series about Shadowhunters. It’s starting to get old.

“I did not make a pie,” Alec repeated, gesturing expressively with one hand, “for three reasons. One, because I do not have any pie ingredients. Two, because I don’t actually know how to make a pie.”
He paused, clearly waiting.
Removing his sword and leaning it against the cave wall, Jace said warily, “And three?”
“Because I am not your bitch,” Alec said, clearly pleased with himself.”

In the last couple of books in the series it seemed like Sebastian or whatever baddies they were up against were unbeatable, and then at the last minute Jace and Clary would suddenly save everything. Boooooring. There were too many romantic relationships for me to keep track of, and I really didn’t care about most of them (Jace and Clary, Simon and Isabelle, Alec and Magnus, Jocelyn and Luke, Tessa and Jem, etc.). Everything about the book was so blah and put me to sleep a few times.

boredboo

“Brother Zachariah,” Isabelle said. “Months January through December of the Hot Silent Brothers Calendar. What’s he doing here?”
“There’s a Hot Silent Brothers Calendar?” said Alec. “Do they sell it?”

Nobody significant died in the book, so everyone is happy and it’s all pretty much a perfect ending. I don’t know if I could have hacked any of the main characters dying, but in the same breath it was almost too happy of an ending.

It’s so hard for me to continue enjoying a series as it progresses, especially if there are a lot of books, because I tend to get bored of the characters. Series always start off fun and light hearted, but always seem to end up with boring and overly emotional characters… That may just be me though!

Onto the next!!!

notinteresed

Anna

 

10 thoughts on “Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

  1. Hahahaha I love your gifs!!! I haven’t read the last book yet because I started getting bored after the fourth! Totally see what you mean… It got boring! *mourns old Jace*

    • Yeah, long series can be really hard! I hope that the Throne of Glass series will continue to be good because I love it so much! And I hope you enjoy the rest of the series! 🙂

  2. *sighs* Ah, well. I recently read the first book and then promptly got out the next four books from the library and read them in one go. I haven’t yet got round to reading this one – although the books have been getting worse I still want to know what happens (always the way).

    • Yeah they gradually get worse , and I get what you mean! I just couldn’t not finish it out of principle, I had to know how it all ended! I hope you enjoy it more than I did! 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Harry Potter Spell Book Tag! | Cool Girls Read Too

Leave a Reply

