Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throneofglass2Rating: 5stars
Type: Fantasy
Trilogy: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire (September 2014)
add amazon

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. 

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. 

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

 

My Review

favourites

I didn’t have a clue what I was getting myself into when I started reading Throne of Glass. I knew with all the raving reviews from different people that the book was going to be amazing, but I didn’t think I’d love it this much! And on that note, I’d like you to say hello to my FIRST EVER FIVE STAR RATING! 😮 What a beautifully narrated story, packed with most of my favourite things  – love triangles, fantasy, action, magic, romance and mystery! 

icanhaveitall

The story follows a super badass assassin named Celaena, and to me, she’s the perfect mix of lethal killer, beauty, intelligence, sass, strength, and girly-ness (I really could have gone on, it’s rare for me to actually really like the female protagonist). The Crowned Prince, Dorian, and the Captain of the Guard, Chaol – along with many other soldiers – take Celaena out of the prison death camp she was thrown into by the King of Adarlan (Dorian’s father) in order to enter a competition to be the King’s “Champion” (basically, his assassin). If she wins the competition – that is against a bunch of other trained thieves, warriors, assassins, etc. – she will be granted freedom after 4 years of servitude.

CompoundedBread @ Deviantart

"My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name's Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I'd still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

It’s been a long time since I started reading a book and was totally gripped within the first 20 pages. The synopsis on the back of the book doesn’t even begin to describe how amazing it actually is how much more there is to the story – I wasn’t expecting the outcome at all. Heck, I didn’t even think there would be magic! But then all of a sudden…

witchcraft

There were so many twists and unexpected turns in the story – I don’t even know what to predict! On top of that, I thought it was a trilogy, but then I did a bit of research… And what do I find? That there is to be six novels in the series. Six. THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING! o_O
Must. Read. Second. Book. Now. Can’t. Think. Of. Anything. Else.

Screen Shot 2014-04-22 at 05.18.27(See for yourself)

Could I possibly go on anymore? YES!!! The most important part – Celaena’s love affairs, of course! 🙄 Dorian is the dark haired charming playboy prince, with a great sense of humour to match, whom is blatantly in love with Celaena. No, he’s not just some transparent and predictable character so don’t write him off – he also seems to have secrets of his own and wants to be rid of his father (something wicked this way comes, me thinks ❓ ). Chaol, on the other hand, is the silent, strong, and funny in a different way, handsome light brown haired captain. Chaol looks at Celaena like he knows what she’s made of, and he’s there for her when she needs him and takes action when Dorian does not (despite wanting to – but doing and wanting are two different things).

Celaena & Chaol

“How long was I asleep?" she whispered. He didn't respond. 
"How long was I asleep?" she asked again, and noticed a hint of red in his cheeks. 
"You were asleep, too?" 
"Until you began drooling on my shoulder.”

➡ So… Chaol, Dorian? Dorian, Chaol? Chaol? Dorian? Hmmm…

Celaena & Dorian

“Of course." He picked up the brown bag of candy on the table. "What's your..." He trailed off as he weighed the bag in his hands. "Didn't I give you three pounds of candy?"
She smiled impishly.
"You ate half the bag!"
"Was I supposed to save it?"
"I would have liked some!"
"You never told me that."
"Because I didn't expect you to consume all of it before breakfast!"
She snatched the bag from him and put it on the table. "Well, that just shows poor judgement on your part, doesn't it?”

After reading the first book, I’m definitely leaning more on the Chaol side – I don’t know what it is about him that makes me like him more… But if I could have it my way?

bothisgood2

That’ll do pig, that’ll do.
Time to calm down, stop writing this overly expressed-with-gifs post, and start reading the next book! XD

Anna

25 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’ve been wanting to read Throne of Glass for a while. I own it and was prepared to read it after my last book, but decided to read my library books first. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Most of the reviews I’ve read for this book have been good, so I’m eager to start reading this one 😀

  2. BAHA! Your gifs for this are SERIOUSLY perfect. I’m soooooo glad you liked it! I am a little surprised you liked Chaol more in this one because if that’s the case you will LOVE him in the second 😀 I guess I’m just a sucker for royalty 😉 The magic and stuff was a huge surprise for me as well, wasn’t expecting it at all! Awesome review 🙂

    • Hahaha I thought the gifs suited it pretty well!!! XD I really had to hold back on adding more, I just had so many I wanted to put!! And have started reading the second book now and already love Chaol even more now ❤ but still it's such a close tie with Dorian!! So happy I finally started reading these books! 🙂

  3. It’s hard to find your articles in google. I found it on 18 spot, you
    should build quality backlinks , it will help you to
    rank to google top 10. I know how to help you, just search
    in google – k2 seo tips and tricks

  4. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot
    of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality, SEO friendly articles in minutes, just search in google – laranitas
    free content source

  5. Pingback: Review: Here Be Sexist Vampires by Suzanne Wright | Cool Girls Read Too

  6. Pingback: The Harry Potter Spell Book Tag! | Cool Girls Read Too

  7. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing,
    i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates unique,
    google friendly posts in seconds, just type in google – laranitas free content source

  8. Pingback: Review: Here Be Sexist Vampires by Suzanne Wright - Cool Girls Read TooCool Girls Read Too

Leave a Reply

