DIVERGENT – Book/Movie Thoughts

divergentposter

“Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”

divergentfactions

I know it’s long overdue and I really should have seen this movie ages ago, but I just haven’t had any time – I was lucky it was still in the cinema! Before we even get into anything, can we just please first talk about Theo James? In all seriousness… HOLY MOTHER OF HOTNESS! XD I don’t even know what to do with myself at this point. He was the perfect Four! And I thought Shailene Woodley really suited Tris – I wasn’t sure she would initially. When I watched the first trailer I was really hesitant to watch the movie because I just didn’t think there would be any chemistry between the actors and I was terrified that the movie would ruin the book for me. Don’t worry… It didn’t 🙂

It’s been quite a few months since I read Divergent, but from what I can remember it basically follows everything that happened, except that a lot of minor(ish) characters were a lot less present in the movie than in the book. I enjoyed the movie and it was awesome to see the book come to life, even though towards the end I was starting to wonder how much longer was left of the movie (but I always struggle to sit through a whole movie!). I managed to convince two of my guy friends to watch the movie with me (they didn’t have a clue what it was about), and to my surprise they actually really enjoyed it! I mean, apart from a few of the really cheesy bits 😛

I really was pleasantly surprised with the movie, but I guess it also helps that I expected it to be so terrible that they only way it could go was up! 😉 I just didn’t bother getting my hopes up after The Mortal Instruments movie was such a disaster last year, and I couldn’t imagine it would live up to The Hunger Games (which it didn’t quite, but hey, it was still a decent movie).

I couldn’t help but feel sad whilst watching the movie because I know how the trilogy comes to a finish, and I hate the ending *so* much. 😥 I don’t even know if I’ll be able to watch the last movie. I mean…

why

I love Divergent; the book is definitely a must-read and the movie is worth a watch!

As for which faction I think I’d be in (I mean, if I wasn’t Divergent)…?
It would definitely be Dauntless or Candor🙄

 WHAT FACTION WOULD YOU BE IN?

“Fear doesn’t shut you down; it wakes you up”

 

Anna

3 thoughts on “DIVERGENT – Book/Movie Thoughts

Leave a Reply

