Review: Redemption Series (Book 2 and 3) by Melynda Price


Autumn landscape in foggy wood with a trackRating:
 4stars
Type: New/Young Adult Paranormal
Series: Until Darkness Comes, Shades of Darkness, Courting Darkness, Braving the Darkness (coming October 2014)
add amazon

She’s captured the hearts of Heaven and Hell…

Betrayed by her true love, Olivia cannot let go of the angel her mind doesn’t remember, and her heart refuses to forget. In an attempt to reclaim her broken life, she is determined to unearth her past, but some secrets are better left buried.

To save her life, he sacrificed everything. Universal Law was broken when Liam violated Olivia’s free will. His guardianship has been revoked, and the pain of letting her go is nothing compared to the torture of enduring their shattered bond. He can no longer sense her, no longer feel her, and the enemy he risked it all to save her from, now has free reign to claim her for his own. To get her back, Liam must turn away from all he is, all he was, for the one thing he may have already lost forever—Olivia’s love.

Haden will stop at nothing to possess Immanuel’s Stone, and locked away in Olivia’s memories is the key he needs to find it. But in his quest for vengeance, he never expected to lose his heart to the enchanting green-eyed beauty. Forced to choose between love and revenge, Haden becomes captivated by a woman who will never be his…or will she?

 

 

My Review

favourites

I’ve been so busy over the last couple of weeks with uni that I haven’t had any time to write or respond to any comments! I’ve finally got a bit of free time to write something, get back to people and catch up on some reading, but not as much as I’d like to! 🙂

I’m *so* happy that I continued to read the Redemption series and I can’t wait for the fourth and final instalment to come out later this year! I also wrote a review for Book 1 in the series “Until Darkness Comes” a few weeks ago that you can check out. In the second and third books, the story flows way smoother and is generally is strung much better than the first book – such an improvement! This review contains spoilers…

I was recommended this series by a New Adult genre group I recently joined on GoodReads – I would have never found out about it otherwise! I couldn’t put the books down. I don’t know what it is about angst filled love triangles that just get me all riled up (okay, maybe I do)! In Shades of Darkness, we get introduced to Haden; the Nephilim (half Angel half human) bad boy you love to hate and hate to love… Or if you’re me, just love to love (I’m just being honest). Since I read all the books within such a short time span and it’s been a couple of weeks now since I read them, the stories have all sort of moulded into one and I can’t exactly place what events happened and in which book. The general gist of it is that Liam and Olivia are having some problems (to no fault of their own really, the laws of the universe just aren’t working in their favour), and whilst Liam is forced to leave, low and behold… Haden is there.

But he’s not there to console Olivia. He’s there to kidnap her and use her as bait to lure out Liam because and to try to get some stone (I forgot what it’s called) that he can use to kill his adopted fallen angel father because of all the horrible stuff he’s made him do in the past. Complicated? Yeah, I won’t even get into it. I’m really barely scratching the surface here. Basically, Haden is bad but he’s good. Liam is just kind of annoys me… I don’t know why. I feel like he’s too good and there are underlying personality traits that just irk me. As far as I’m concerned, Haden and his bad-boy-that-kills-anything-without-remorse-persona-and-is-smoking-hot is freaking perfect. You can’t help but love him more and more as the story progresses. I don’t know what will happen in the last book, and even though I doubt Olivia will end up with Haden I really, really (no, but REALLY) want her to. 😀

Price’s writing and the story comes together in an increasingly better and coherent way as each book progresses. Looking back, the first book wasn’t nearly as good as the second two and as I’ve said – if I hadn’t been as determined as I was to read this series, I would have put it down half way through. I’m really glad I didn’t and I’m glad that I decided to try reading a series from a relatively unknown author – it’s definitely worth a read if you’re into angels, demons and love triangles! 🙂

I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE FINAL BOOK “BRAVING THE DARKNESS” TO COME OUT!!! XD

untildcomesshadesofdarknesscourtingdarkness
Anna

One thought on “Review: Redemption Series (Book 2 and 3) by Melynda Price

  1. Pingback: Thoughts & Discussions: Love Triangles | Cool Girls Read Too

Leave a Reply

