Review: Until Darkness Comes by Melynda Price


Until Darkness ComesRating:
 3.5stars
Type: New/Young Adult Paranormal
Trilogy: Until Darkness Comes, Shades of Darkness, Courting Darkness
Author | Amazon | Goodreads

A guardian angel… A forbidden love… Eternal consequences…

Olivia Norton was born with a gift—a gift heaven has sworn to protect, and hell is bound to destroy. Her perfect world is turned upside-down when two handsome strangers, Max and Liam, step into her life. Olivia soon discovers that her ‘Mr. Perfect’ is actually a perfect nightmare.

The rules of engagement have changed and Liam, Olivia’s guardian angel, is forced to cross dimensional borders or risk losing the woman he’s sworn to protect. Suddenly, thrust into a world unlike anything he’s ever known, Liam isn’t prepared to come face to face with the young woman whose life he holds in his hands.

But nothing is as it seems, and secrets abound that will ultimately force him to choose between two impossibilities. Max will stop at nothing to finish what he’s started, and Olivia is soon plunged into a battle between good and evil. Her very life hangs in the balance as two forces fight to win her heart.

 

 

My Review

I decided that I wanted to read a book that hasn’t been read by so many people, and it was probably one of the bravest reading choices that I’ve made because, for the most part, I’ve read books which are known to be good or are written by famous authors.  I was so excited about starting this series because it’s New Adult, has angels, demons (fallen angels), and a love triangle. The perfect ingredients of sugar, spice, and everything nice…

The basic plot is that Olivia is dating Max, a fallen angel, who is trying to kill her because she has the “Sight” (which means she can see into the angel/demon dimension). Liam has been her Guardian Angel since she was born, which that also means they have a special bond and he loves her. When Olivia’s life is threatened, Liam is sent to Earth to protect her and they fall in love but it is forbidden. Angels cannot be with humans and there are dire consequences. I won’t say anymore because otherwise it’ll ruin the story for you!

It started off so slow. There was a lot of over the top romance and I just didn’t understand why Liam was so in love with Olivia. She really wasn’t anything special except that she was beautiful. And she fell in love with Liam instantly. I’m not really a fan of instant-oh-my-god-I’m-so-in-love-with-you stories. The story also didn’t seem like it was going anywhere and there was a lot I didn’t understand. I almost stopped reading it. I really did.

But I gave it a chance and kept reading. And then all of a sudden, half way through the book, shit got real – real quick. I couldn’t stop reading. It was so good and everything started to fall into place. I’m so glad that I decided to read this series, and even though sometimes it’s a little bit too over the top romance, I still love it. I only rated it 3.5 stars because of how much I didn’t enjoy the first half and because there were a few things here and there I didn’t really like overall. I’m now reading the second book in the series and it’s even better than the first! I would definitely recommend it! 

untildcomesshadesofdarknesscourtingdarkness
Anna

4 thoughts on “Review: Until Darkness Comes by Melynda Price

  1. Wow….intense, eh? I’m not sure I could handle the beginning though. The beginnings tend to mar the endings for me, which is a shame, but I just get crankier if I go along. *sigh* Still. I like books that go BOOM at the end. 😉 Insta-love, however, nah not so much.

    • Hahaha it was so hard to keep reading but I’m glad I did 🙂 – the second book is a lo better than the first. And I’m definitely not a fan of insta-love either! 😉

  2. Pingback: Review: Redemption Series (Book 2 and 3) by Melynda Price | Cool Girls Read Too

  3. Pingback: Review: Redemption Series (Book 2 and 3) by Melynda Price - Cool Girls Read TooCool Girls Read Too

Leave a Reply

