Review: The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

clockworkprincessRating: 4stars
Type: Young Adult Paranormal/Fantasy
Trilogy: Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess
Author | Amazon | Goodreads

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them….

 

My Review

I read this trilogy after reading The Mortal Instruments (TMI) series by Cassandra Clare and basically needed to get my hands on anything shadowhunter – I was pretty much obsessed. Thankfully, there was The Infernal Devices (TID) which I could dig into whilst waiting for the sixth and final instalment of TMI, which is going to come out later this year: City of Heavenly Fire. The book had a paranormal love triangle (which we all know is one of my favourite things), but it wasn’t completely mind blowing… The rest of the review contains a few spoilers!

It was a beautiful love triangle – not one where the guys hated each other; it was exactly the opposite. Will and Jem were best friends that were both in love with Tessa. They had a friendship where they were like brothers. I felt like the whole time it was clear Tessa was destined to be with Will, and it just made me feel really sorry for Jem (what, he had to be terminally ill and “lose” the woman he loves to his best friend?).

I read these books around 5 months ago, so I don’t remember all of the exact details, but from what I remember Tessa is a warlock. A particularly rare half-Shadowhunter, half-demon warlock. Oh yeah, and then there’s the fact that she lives forever. Forever. Never gets old. After they beat all the baddies and la-dee-da, Jem is about to die because he is terminally ill, and decides to become one of the Silent Brothers (meaning he lives forever but is nearly never around other shadowhunters). Tessa ends up with charming and charismatic Will. They have kids, then they he gets old whilst Tessa stays young. Then he dies. It’s all very sad.

And then what? Many, many years later (after Will’s death) Jem decides he doesn’t want to be a Silent Brother anymore, so low and behold he and Tessa get together. Thank god. It would have been too heart breaking if Jem never got at least some form of happy ending. I didn’t think the actual plot was great – there were a few things here and there that I didn’t like, but it was alright. I was probably too focused on the love triangle anyways. 😛

I sound like I didn’t enjoy the trilogy, but I did. I really did. It’s hard to write a review when I’m struggling to remember exactly what happened – so it might just be easier to tell you how it made me feel. I felt sad and happy (oh, paradoxes). The love between the characters was beautiful and heart breaking. It was the happiest possible ending for a love triangle, because both ended up with the girl in one way or another. But it was also sad, because even though she was with Jem, Will was dead… Now you see my conundrum. Bittersweet.

  • Overall rating: 4/5
  • Storyline: 3.5/5
  • Romance: 4/5
  • Characters: 4.5/5

InfernalDevices

Anna

8 thoughts on “Review: The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare

  1. I’ve been so afraid to start this series because all the books are just so thick! I’m intimidated D: Maybe I should start this series first before The Mortal Instruments #1 series since there are just 3 books rather than 6.

    • You definitely should give them a go! I didn’t even realise how thick the books are because I read them on my Kindle, but they are so good – I finished them so quickly! 🙂 I hope you enjoy them!

  2. Glad you liked the series! That epilogue of Clockwork Princess KILLED me. I agree about Jem, and Will, and Tessa 🙂 Such great books. Awesome relationships too, build on friendship like they should be 😀

  3. Oh dear…I don’t think I should have read this. I hadn’t read the trilogy and I really want to…but now I know what happens? Dang. >.< My bad.

Leave a Reply

